

## 2023 National Holmes Mining Safety and Health Conference Draws 150



Woody Wickersheim, Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association 2021-23 President, Opens 2023 Joint Convention



Jeff Kravitz Receiving Recognition for IMRB Tireless Dedication from Kent Armstrong



Steve Sandbrook, Man of the Year, Sunni Christon Presenting



Conference Attendees Enjoy Dinner and Awards Banquet

The *National Holmes Joint Mining Safety and Health Conference,* in conjunction with the *Mine Safety Institute* of *America (MSIA)* and the *National Mine Rescue Association* was Held on June 27-30, 2023 at the *Hilton Palacio del Rio,* San Antonio, Texas. There were 150 attendees. This included the 111<sup>th</sup> Conference of the *MSIA.* 

The organizational committee headed up by Jeff Kravitz and Bob Glatter designed the program to enhance the new developments in mine safety and health, to give attendees the opportunity to meet in small groups, and to share knowledge and experiences that would lead to a safer and healthier environment for the miners.

In 2013, the members of the **Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association** overwhelmingly approved a constitutional amendment and changes to the by-laws to create a mine rescue organization within Holmes known as the **Holmes Mine Rescue Association.** This reestablished mine rescue as an important function within the **Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association**, which was created back in 1916.

In 2021-2023, the officers of the MSIA were President Woody Wickersheim (Wisconsin) and Secretary Treasurer Joe

Sbaffoni (Pennsylvania). The officers of **JAHSA** were President Woody Wickersheim (Wiscnsin), Secretary Elwood Burris (West Virginia) and Treasurer Robert Glatter (Virginia). The officers of **HMRA** were President Jeff Kravitz (Pennsylvania), Secretary Vicki Mullins, and Treasurer Richard West.

At 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday June 27, the meeting began with the *JAHSA* Executive Committee Annual Meeting. This was followed by the State Grants Meeting.

After lunch, Welcoming remarks were provided by Woody Wickersheim, President, **Joseph A**. **Holmes Safety Association** and Jeffrey Kravitz, PhD, President, **Holmes Mine Rescue Association**. These were followed by two Keynote Speakers. At 5:30 p.m., the Meet and Greet took place on the beautiful Terrace of the *Hilton Palacio del Rio*, reminding everyone of the beautiful location chosen for the meeting.

## **MSIA Working Lunch**

On Wednesday Morning, June 28, the technical sessions began at 8 am. At 11:30 a.m. after the morning's presentations, the **MSIA** Working Lunch was held in a nice restaurant at the *Hilton Palacio del Rio* with Joe Sbaffoni, Secretary Treasurer, presiding and fifteen members in attendance comprising: Woody Wickersheim, Jeff Kravitz, Joseph Sbaffoni, Mark Zinser, John Riggi, Jeffery Hodges, Kent Armstrong, Bob Randolph, and new members Chrystal Dye, Cassandra Hoebbel, Steve Setzer, Garland Moffet, Brandon Neal, Joseph Mackowiak, and Carla Gustafson.

The minutes of the previous Annual Meeting held on October 13, 2021 in the Carambola Restaurant at the *Hilton,* Clearwater, Florida were read and approved. There were fifteen members present comprising: Jim Vicini, William Gerringer, Woody Wickersheim, Joe Sbaffoni, Karon Miller, Ben Hart, Kenny Murray, Chris Whitt, Jeff Kravitz, John Riggi, Chris Rachel, Mark Brounacker, Bob Glatter, Mark Zinser and Bill Reid.

Joe presented the Treasurer Report for May 31, 2023. A motion was made by Mark Zinser to approve which was seconded by John Riggi. This report showed:

Checking Account Balance (05/31/2019) \$17,563.07 Check #2 Flame Safety Lamp President's Award \$240.00 Deposit Initiation Dues from 2021 Meeting \$60.00 Checking Account interest (10/2021 to 05/2023) \$3.45 Checking Account Balance as of May 31,2023 \$17,563.62

OLD BUSINESS: The MIIA History Book by Bill Reid was presented to those in attendance. MIIA members not attending will receive a copy of the History Book.

NW BUSINESS: A motion was made to elect Kent Armstrong 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice President by Jeff Kravitz and seconded by Woody Wickersheim and passed by all present.

Officers for 2023-2024 are:

Robert Randolph (Pennsylvania) President
Bill York-Feirn (Colorado) 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President
Chris Whitt (Virginia) 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice President
Kent Armstrong (Canada) 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice President
Joe Sbaffoni (Pennsylvania) Secretary Treasurer
Chuck Edwards (Pennsylvania) Asst. Secretary Treasurer

Next year's Annual Joint Meeting in conjunction with **JAHSA** would be held at the *Hilton Clearwater Beach Resort* and Spa, Clearwater, Florida June 24-28, 2024. The motion to adjourn was made by Jeffrey Hodges and Seconded by Mark Zinser then passed by acclimation.

On Wednesday afternoon, the technical sessions reconvened at 1:30 p.m. The last presentation of the day was followed by the *HMRA* General Meeting, which most members at the Convention attended.

On Thursday morning, the technical sessions began at 8:00. After lunch, the technical sessions resumed and at 3:00 p.m., the *JAHSA* General Meeting began. A discussion was held on the date and place for the next Conference and it was decided to hold the *JAHSA* Joint Mining Safety and Health Conference on June 24-28, 2024 in Clearwater, Florida.

## **Dinner and Awards Banquet**

At 5:30 p.m. the Reception took place followed by the *JAHSA* Dinner and Awards Banquet. Woody Wickersheim handed over the gavel to Sunni Christon (Texas), who became the *Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association* President (see photo). Brian Millington was named as the *Holmes Mine Rescue Association* President. Both Presidents have terms that will last until the end of the 2024 Conference.

The following honors were presented at the Awards Banquet:

William "Bill" Hoover Lifetime Achievement Award – Lee Graham Ival Van Horne Award – Garland Moffett Holmes Safety Association Women of the Year – Cassandra Hoebbel Holmes Safety Association Man of the Year – Steve Sandbrook Holmes Mine Rescue Association Woman of the Year – Karen Miller

## The District Council Awards were:

2021 Underground Coal (Group 1) - Scotty Groves District Council

2021 Underground Coal (Group 111) - Anthracite District Council

2021 Surface Metal/Nonmetal (Group 11) - Sunflower Safety Council

2021 Surface Metal/Nonmetal (Group 111- Anthracite District Council

The Awards Banquet brought the highly successful **2023 National Holmes Joint Mining Safety and Health Conference** to a memorable conclusion.



Woody Wickersheim Awarded for Service as JAHSA President 2021-23 By Sunni Christon, Incoming President



William "Bill" Hoover Lifetime Achievement Award - Lee Graham (Mark Zinser, Pat Silvey, Graham, Sunni Christon)



Val Van Horne Award - Garland Moffett (Woody Wickersheim, Silvey, Moffet, Christon)



Holmes Safety Association Women of the Year - Cassandra Hoebbel Presented By Sunni Christon



Holmes Mine Rescue Association Women of the Year - Karen Miller



Underground Coal (Group1) - Scotty Groves District Council - (Pat Silvey, John Riggi, Sunni Christon)



Underground Coal (Group 111) - Anthracite District Council (Pat Silvey, Mowery, Sunni Christon)



Surface Metal /Nonmetal (Group 11) - Sunflower Safety Council (Pat Silvey, Dye, Sunni Christon)



Surface Metal/Nonmetal (Group 111) - Anthracite District Council (Pat Silvey, Joe Sbaffoni, Sunni Christon)



NIOSH Mining Program



Vendors and Sponsors



NIOSH Mining Program



MSHA Mining Health Matters

KPA Safety Management Software