Signature Sponsor
Kenneth Allen Sworn In as TVA Board Member



By Rita Dukes Smith

January 12, 2018 - Kenneth Allen, of White Plains, Ky., today officially assumed his role as a member of the Tennessee Valley Authority board of directors after taking the oath of office in a ceremony in Bowling Green. His term will expire on May 18, 2021.

Allen was nominated by President Donald Trump on Sept. 21 and was confirmed by the U.S. Senate Dec. 21. He was sworn in by Magistrate Judge H. Brent Brennenstuhl of the Western District of Kentucky.

“Although I’ve spent my career in the coal industry, I recognize and support the work TVA is doing to diversify how it produces energy because it helps keep rates low for everyone,” said Allen. “I am honored to have the opportunity to serve on the board and be a part of TVA’s continuing mission of service.”

Allen lives in White Plains and most recently served as the Executive Vice President of Operations and Chief Operating Officer at Armstrong Coal Company. During a 50-plus-year career, he served in a variety of increasingly senior roles including as President and Operations Manager of Bluegrass Coal Company.

Allen attended classes at Madisonville Community College, the University of Evansville, the University of North Carolina and the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia.

Allen is one of four newly confirmed appointees to the TVA board of directors along with James “Skip” Thompson of Decatur, Alabama, Jeff W. Smith of Knoxville, Tennessee and A.D. Frazier of Mineral Bluff, Georgia. They will join current TVA Chairman Richard Howorth of Oxford, Mississippi, and directors Virginia Lodge and Eric Satz of Nashville, Tennessee and Ronald Walter of Memphis, Tennessee.


One additional vacancy remains on the nine-member board, which next meets on Feb. 16 in Chattanooga, Tennessee. 


Kenneth Allen being sworn in as TVA board member.